Council of Presidents

In a continuous effort to advance institutional vitality and student success, AGB established the Council of Presidents, a standing advisory group of eminent college, university, and system chief executives. This distinguished group convenes twice annually along with policy makers, relevant subject-matter experts, and leaders from the private sector to share knowledge, strengthen higher education, and elevate the professionalism of governing boards. Summaries from the meetings are published and shared with AGB’s membership.


M. Roy Wilson
Wayne State University

Vice Chair

Kwang-Wu Kim
Columbia College Chicago


Jonathan R. Alger
James Madison University

Michael T. Benson
Eastern Kentucky University

Mary Schmidt Campbell
Spelman College

Robert L. Caret
University System of Maryland

Clayton Christian
Montana University System

Shirley M. Collado
Ithaca College

Raymond E. Crossman
Adler University

Elizabeth Davis
Furman University

Michael A. Fitts
Tulane University

Fernando León García
CETYS University System

Maria Harper-Marinick
Maricopa County Community Colleges

Marjorie Hass
Rhodes College

Shane Jacobson
University of Vermont Foundation

Glen D. Johnson
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Renu Khator
University of Houston System

Raynard Kington
Grinnell College

Paul LeBlanc
Southern New Hampshire University

Wendy B. Libby
Stetson University

Brian McCall
Texas State University System

Cherí O’Neill
Colorado State University Foundation

Michael Rao
Virginia Commonwealth University

Suzanne Shipley
Midwestern State University

Jill Tiefenthaler
Colorado College

Timothy P. White
The California State University System