Board Professionals Leadership Group

The AGB Board Professionals Leadership Group (BP Leadership Group), endorsed by AGB, facilitates and encourages educational and professional services and opportunities for board professionals from AGB member institutions. As a successor to the BPS Planning Committee, the BP Leadership Group continues to provide leadership for the annual Workshop for Board Professionals, held in conjunction with AGB's National Conference on Trusteeship.

In addition, the BP Leadership Group shall periodically assess the professional development needs of board professionals and advise and work with AGB to address those needs through research, education, communication, and other programming.

The BP Leadership Group will also promote membership in AGB and participation by board professionals in AGB programs and services for board professionals, and through AGB ensure regular communication with board professionals at AGB member institutions.

There are four committees of the Leadership Group: Executive, Marketing and Membership, Professional Development, and Program.

Members of the BP Leadership Group and its committees convene each year during the Workshop for Board Professionals and hold an annual planning meeting during the summer. The next summer planning meeting of the BP Leadership Group will be hosted by Charlene Reed, chair, at Kent State University on July 28-30, 2013.

Officers and Executive Committee, 2013-14                           

Richard Riddell, Chair
Vice President and University Secretary, Duke University
richard.riddell@duke.edu

Charlene Reed, Past Chair
Kent State University
creed2@kent.edu

Anne Shaw, Vice Chair 
Associate Secretary of the Regents, University of California
anne.shaw@ucop.edu

Julie Miller
Secretary to the Board of Governors, Wayne State University
julie.h.miller@wayne.edu

Committee Membership, 2013-2014

Marketing & Membership Committee

Katie Herschede, Chair
Executive Assistant and Secretary to the Board, Northern Kentucky University
herschede@nku.edu

Mitzi Norton, Vice Chair
Director, Office of the President, Adler School of Professional Psychology
mnorton@adler.edu

Aristide Collins
Vice President and Secretary of the University, George Washington University
aristide@gwu.edu

Lynne Fullerton-Baham
Director, Board Relations, Oregon State University Foundation
lynne.fullerton-baham@oregonstate.edu

Kathleen Keck
Office of the President, Paul Smith's College of Arts and Science
kkeck@paulsmiths.edu

Anne Shaw
Associate Secretary, University of California
anne.shaw@ucop.edu

Steve Frieder
Assistant to the President and Board Secretary, Marquette University
steven.frieder@marquette.edu

Professional Development Committee

Brig Timpson, Chair
Chief of Staff and Assistant Secretary, Roosevelt University
btimpson@roosevelt.edu

Kathryn Lake, Vice Chair
Assistant to the President and Assistant Secretary to the Board, Kenyon College
lakek@kenyon.edu

Heather Fehn
Secretary to the Board, The College of New Jersey
hfehn@tcnj.edu  

Carol Felkel
Secretary to the Board, University of Texas System
cfelkel@utsystem.edu

Beth Hilliard
Senior Executive Assistant and Assistant Secretary, Kentucky Community & Technical College System
beth.hilliard@kctcs.edu  

Julie Miller (EC)
Secretary to the Board of Governors, Wayne State University
Julie.H.Miller@wayne.edu

Dale Tahtinen
Board Secretary and Vice President for Government Relations, Michigan Technological University
drtahtin@mtu.edu 

Louis Charpentier
Secretary of the Governing Council, University of Toronto
l.charpentier@utoronto.ca

Program Committee

Lorrie Kyle, Chair
Executive Assistant to the President, Rollins College
lkyle@rollins.edu

Irene Birrell, Vice Chair
University Secretary, Western University (Canada)
ibirrell@uwo.ca

Bonita Brown
Chief of Staff and Assistant Secretary, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
bjbrown3@uncg.edu

Tamaria Kai Davis
Secretary of the College, Spelman College
tkdavis@spelman.edu

Tina Emmons
Governing Board Assistant, Maricopa Community College
tina.emmons@domail.maricopa.edu

Tina Holloway
Assistant Secretary to the Board, University of Texas System
tholloway@utsystem.edu

Teri Losey
Special Assistant to the President and Secretary to the Board, Grand Valley State University
loseyt@gvsu.edu

Kelley Mills
Trustee Relations Secretary, Rhode Island School of Design
kmills@risd.edu

Char Reed (EC)
Secretary to the Board and Chief of Staff, Kent State University
creed2@kent.edu

Kai Swanson
Executive Assistant to the President, Augustana College
kaiswanson@augustana.edu

Artis Hampshire-Cowan
Senior Vice President and Secretary, Howard University
ahampshire-cowan@Howard.edu

Past Leaders of BPLG and Outstanding Board Professionals

Recipients of BPLG Special Recognition Award 

2012  Jeannie Phillips, University of Alaska

2010 Artis Hampshire-Cowan, Howard University 

2009 Linda Dixon, Tufts University 

2007 Leigh Trivette, University of California 

Chairs of the BPLG 

2013-2014  Richard Riddell, Duke University

2012-2013  Charlene Reed, Kent State University

2011-2012 Beth Rice Hilliard, Kentucky Community and Technical College System 

2010-2011 Heather Fehn, The College of New Jersey 

2009-2010  Ann Cieslak, University of Minnesota 

2008-2009  Louis Charpentier, University of Toronto 

2007-2008 Richard Mersereau, Bowdoin College 

Secretaries of the BPLG 

2011-2013  Steve Frieder, Marquette University 

2007-2011 Anne Shaw, University of California