Skip to main content

AGB Board Professionals

The AGB Board Professionals, endorsed by AGB, facilitates and encourages educational and professional services and opportunities for board professionals from AGB member institutions. As a successor to the BPS Planning Committee and the Board Professional Leadership Group, the AGB Board Professionals continues to provide leadership for the annual Workshop for Board Professionals, held in conjunction with AGB's National Conference on Trusteeship.

The AGB Board Professionals promote membership in AGB and participation by board professionals in AGB programs and services for board professionals, and through AGB ensure regular communication with board professionals at AGB member institutions. In addition, the AGB Board Professionals periodically assess the professional development needs of board professionals and advise and work with AGB to address those needs through research, education, communication, and other programming.

There are three committees of the AGB Board Professionals: Executive, Programs, and Professional Development. Members of the AGB Board Professionals and its committees convene each year during the Workshop for Board Professionals and hold an annual planning meeting during the summer.

Officers and Executive Committee, 2014-15

Anne Shaw, Chair
Secretary and Chief of Staff to the Regents, University of California
anne.shaw@ucop.edu

Richard Riddell, Past Chair
Vice President and University Secretary, Duke University
richard.riddell@duke.edu

Lorrie Kyle, Vice Chair
Executive Assistant to the President, Rollins College
lkyle@rollins.edu

Katie Herschede, Secretary
Executive Assistant and Secretary to the Board, Northern Kentucky University
herschede@nku.edu

Committee Membership, 2014-2015

Professional Development Committee

Mitzi Norton, Chair
Director, Office of the President, Adler School of Professional Psychology
mnorton@adler.edu

Aristide Collins, Vice Chair
Vice President and Secretary of the University, George Washington University
aristide@gwu.edu

Heather Fehn
Chief of Staff and Secretary to the Board, The College of New Jersey
hfehn@tcnj.edu

Katie Herschede (EC)
Executive Assistant and Secretary to the Board, Northern Kentucky University
herschede@nku.edu

Linda Mehlinger
Assistant Vice President for Planning and IT, Morgan State University
Linda.Mehlinger@morgan.edu

Julie Miller
Secretary to the Board of Governors, Wayne State University
julie.h.miller@wayne.edu

Tina Montemayor
Assistant Secretary, University of Texas System
tmontemayor@utsystem.edu

Char Reed
Secretary to the Board and Chief of Staff, Kent State University
creed2@kent.edu

Anne Shaw (EC)
Associate Secretary, University of California
anne.shaw@ucop.edu

Carrie Warren
Assistant Secretary, Metropolitan State University at Denver
ctwarren@msudenver.edu

Programs Committee

Irene Birrell, Chair
University Secretary, Western University (Canada)
ibirrell@uwo.ca

Kai Swanson, Vice Chair
Special Assistant to the President, Augustana College
kaiswanson@augustana.edu

Bonita Brown
Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
bjbrown3@uncg.edu

Tamaria Kai Davis
Secretary of the College, Spelman College
tkdavis@spelman.edu

Kimberly Erickson
Assistant to the Executive Director, Ferris State University Foundation
ericksok@ferris.edu

Jeffrey Garland
Vice President and University Secretary, University of Delaware
jgarland@udel.edu

Tina Holloway
Director of Board Technology Services, University of Texas System
tholloway@utsystem.edu

Lorrie Kyle (EC)
Executive Assistant to the President, Rollins College
lkyle@rollins.edu

Mary Lou Lackey
Vice President and Secretary, University of the Pacific
mllackey@pacific.edu

Kathryn Lake
Assistant to the President and Assistant Secretary to the Board, Kenyon College
lakek@kenyon.edu

Karen Monteleone
Associate Director, Foundation Board Relations, University of Central Florida Foundation
Karen.Monteleone@ucf.edu

Richard Riddell (EC)
Vice President and University Secretary, Duke University

richard.riddell@duke.edu

Brian Steeves
Executive Director and Corporate Secretary, University of Minnesota
bsteeves@umn.edu

Past Leaders of AGB Board Professionals and Outstanding Board Professionals

Recipients of AGB Board Professionals Special Recognition Award

2012:  Jeannie Phillips, University of Alaska

2010:  Artis Hampshire-Cowan, Howard University

2009:  Linda Dixon, Tufts University

2007:  Leigh Trivette, University of California

Chairs of the AGB Board Professionals

2014-2015:  Anne Shaw, University of California

2013-2014:  Richard Riddell, Duke University

2012-2013:  Charlene Reed, Kent State University

2011-2012:  Beth Rice Hilliard, Kentucky Community and Technical College System

2010-2011:  Heather Fehn, The College of New Jersey

2009-2010:  Ann Cieslak, University of Minnesota

2008-2009:  Louis Charpentier, University of Toronto

2007-2008:  Richard Mersereau, Bowdoin College

Secretaries of the AGB Board Professionals

2013-2014:  Julie Miller, Wayne State University

2011-2013:  Steve Frieder, Marquette University

2007-2011:  Anne Shaw, University of California