Skip to main content

AGB Board Professionals

The AGB Board Professionals, endorsed by AGB, facilitates and encourages educational and professional services and opportunities for board professionals from AGB member institutions. As a successor to the BPS Planning Committee and the Board Professional Leadership Group, the AGB Board Professionals continues to provide leadership for the annual Workshop for Board Professionals, held in conjunction with AGB's National Conference on Trusteeship.

The AGB Board Professionals promote membership in AGB and participation by board professionals in AGB programs and services for board professionals, and through AGB ensure regular communication with board professionals at AGB member institutions. In addition, the AGB Board Professionals periodically assess the professional development needs of board professionals and advise and work with AGB to address those needs through research, education, communication, and other programming.

There are three committees of the AGB Board Professionals: Executive, Programs, and Professional Development. Members of the AGB Board Professionals and its committees convene each year during the Workshop for Board Professionals and hold an annual planning meeting during the summer. Membership in the AGB Board Professionals group is reserved for and representative of board professionals from institutions that are members of AGB. Click here for guidelines for the group.

Officers and Executive Committee, 2015-2016

Lorrie Kyle, Chair
Executive Assistant to the President & Assistant Secretary, Rollins College
lkyle@rollins.edu

Irene Birrell, Vice Chair
University Secretary, Western University (Canada)
ibirrell@uwo.ca

Anne Shaw, Immediate Past Chair
Secretary and Chief of Staff to the Regents, University of California System
anne.shaw@ucop.edu

Katie Herschede, Secretary
Executive Assistant and Secretary to the Board, Northern Kentucky University
herschede@nku.edu

Aristide Collins, Outreach Chair
Vice President and Secretary of the University, George Washington University
aristide@gwu.edu


Committee Membership, 2015-2016

Professional Development Committee

Mitzi Norton, Chair
Director, Office of the President, Adler University
mnorton@adler.edu

Karen Monteleone, Vice Chair
Associate Director, Foundation Board Relations, UCF Foundation
karen.monteleone@ucf.edu

Gwen Burks
Executive Assistant, Fresno Pacific University
gwen.burks@fresno.edu

Rolanda Burney
Interim Vice President of Student Affairs and Chief of Staff, Bennett College
rburney@bennett.edu

Meg Evans
Board Liaison, Portland State University Foundation
megevans@pdx.edu

Heather Fehn
Chief of Staff & Secretary, The College of New Jersey
hfehn@tcnj.edu

Maria "Lolin" Feliciano
Executive Assistant, Board of Trustees, Universidad Carlos Albizu
mfeliciano@albizu.edu

Paul Hegland
Secretary to the Board of Trustees, Carthage College
paul@carthage.edu

Katie Herschede
Executive Assistant and Secretary to the Board, Northern Kentucky University
herschede@nku.edu

Tina Montemayor
Assistant Secretary to the Board, University of Texas System
tmontemayor@utsystem.edu

Geoffery Pearson
Chief Executive Assistant, Secretary, McDaniel College
gperson@mcdaniel.edu

Anne Shaw
Secretary and Chief of Staff to the Regents, University of California System
anne.shaw@ucop.edu


Programs Committee

Kai Swanson, Chair
Special Assistant to the President, Augustana College
kaiswanson@augustana.edu

Brian Steeves, Vice Chair
Executive Director, Corporate Secretary, University of Minnesota
bsteeves@umn.edu

Carrier Warren, Vice Chair
Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees, Metropolitan State University of Denver
ctwarren@msudenver.edu

Karen Barrows
Secretary & Chief of Staff, Rochester Institute of Technology
karen.barrows@rit.eduI

Irene Birrell
University Secretary, Western University (Canada)
ibirrell@uwo.ca

Bonita Brown
Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
bjbrown3@uncg.edu

Rian Curley
Executive Assistant to the President, California Lutheran University
rcurley@callutheran.edu

Jeffery Garland
Vice President and University Secretary, University of Delaware
jgarland@udel.edu

Arlean Graham
Board Relations Coordinator, Montgomery College
arlean.graham@montgomerycollege.edu

Saletta Hollaway
Senior Vice President, Board of Trustees Relations and Protocol and Assistant Corporate Secretary, Meharry Medical College
sholloway@mmc.edu

Tina Holloway
Director of Board Technology Services, The University of Texas System
tholloway@utsystem.edu

Johnna Ingham
Administrative Assistant to the Vice President for Alumni Relations and Development and Foundation Executive Director, University of Central Missouri Foundation Alumni Association
ingham@ucmo.edu

Chad Jordahl
Assistant Vice President, Board Services, DePaul University
cjordahl@depaul.edu

Mary Lou Lackey
Vice President and Secretary, University of the Pacific
mllackey@pacific.edu

Kathryn Lake
Assistant to the President and Assistant Secretary to the Board, Kenyon College
lakek@kenyon.edu

Heather Link
Associate Secretary of the Board of Trustees, The Ohio State University
link.106@osu.edu

Linda Mehlinger
Assistant Vice President for Planning and IT, Morgan State University
linda.mehlinger@morgan.edu
 

Past Leaders of AGB Board Professionals and Outstanding Board Professionals

Recipients of AGB Board Professionals Special Recognition Award

2012:  Jeannie Phillips, University of Alaska

2010:  Artis Hampshire-Cowan, Howard University

2009: Linda Dixon, Tufts University

2007:  Leigh Trivette, University of California


Chairs of the AGB Board Professionals

2014-2015:  Anne Shaw, University of California

2013-2014:  Richard Riddell, Duke University

2012-2013: Charlene Reed, Kent State University

2011-2012: Beth Rice Hilliard, Kentucky Community and Technical College System

2010-2011: Heather Fehn, The College of New Jersey

2009-2010: Ann Cieslak, University of Minnesota

2008-2009: Louis Charpentier, University of Toronto

2007-2008: Richard Mersereau, Bowdoin College


Secretaries of the AGB Board Professionals

2013-2014: Julie Miller, Wayne State University

2011-2013: Steve Frieder, Marquette University

2007-2011: Anne Shaw, University of California