Enabling Excellence

Inside AGB

About Us

The Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB) is the premier organization centered on governance in higher education. Governing boards must focus now more than ever on promoting central missions while running their institutions as effectively as possible. It is critical that they reinforce the value of higher education, innovate through the smart use of technology, and serve the needs of a shifting demographic. AGB provides leadership and counsel to member boards, chief executives, organizational staff, policy makers, and other key industry leaders to help them navigate the changing education landscape.

About AGB

AGB helps higher education institutions thrive by providing vital information, expert counsel, advocacy, and customized consulting services.

AGB helps higher education institutions thrive by providing vital information, expert counsel, advocacy, and customized consulting services.

AGB Fast Facts



  • 1,300 boards
  • 1,900 colleges, universities, and institutionally related foundations.
Institutions Served

Institutions Served

  • Individual campuses and statewide systems
  • Independent and public institutions
  • All degree types and classifications
  • List of current members

Individuals Served

  • 40,000 representatives of higher education institutions, including:
  • Trustees and regents
  • Presidents, chancellors, and CEOs
  • Senior-level administrators
  • Board professional staff members

AGB Leadership


AGB is governed and advised by three groups of distinguished leaders from every type of member institution the association serves—public and independent, large and small, single campuses and multicampus systems, research universities and liberal arts colleges, and two-year and four-year institutions.

Board of Directors


Shauna R. Diggs
University of Michigan

Vice Chair

Monroe Miller
Johnson C. Smith University

Vice Chair

Beverly J. Seay
University of Central Florida

At-Large Member

Eric P. Blackhurst
Alma College


Angel L. Mendez
Lafayette College

Nelson A. Carbonell
George Washington University

Kathleen A. Dore
University of Iowa Foundation

Fred DuVal
Arizona Board of Regents

Cathy Havener Greer
Randolph College

Eleanor V. Horne
The College of New Jersey

Mary K. Hughes
University of Alaska System and
Willamette University, Life Trustee Emerita

Jeffrey L. Humber Jr.
Gallaudet University

Leo Lambert
(Public member)

David W. Miles
Drake University

Ross A. Mugler
Old Dominion University

Ronald C. Parker
Texas Christian University

Horacio Valeiras
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Council of Presidents

The Council of Presidents is a standing advisory group of college, university, and system chief executives who provide guidance to the association on issues, trends, and practices related to higher education and citizen trusteeship. Council members are eminent professional leaders in higher education and are highly knowledgeable about the roles, responsibilities, and practices of effective governance. The council meets annually.


M. Roy Wilson
Wayne State University

Vice Chair

Kwang-Wu Kim
Columbia College Chicago


Jonathan R. Alger
James Madison University

Michael T. Benson
Eastern Kentucky University

Mary Schmidt Campbell
Spelman College

Robert L. Caret
University System of Maryland

Clayton Christian
Montana University System

Shirley M. Collado
Ithaca College

Raymond E. Crossman
Adler University

Elizabeth Davis
Furman University

Michael A. Fitts
Tulane University

Fernando León García
CETYS University System

Maria Harper-Marinick
Maricopa County Community Colleges

Marjorie Hass
Rhodes College

Shane Jacobson
University of Vermont Foundation

Glen D. Johnson
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Renu Khator
University of Houston System

Raynard Kington
Grinnell College

Paul LeBlanc
Southern New Hampshire University

Wendy B. Libby
Stetson University

Brian McCall
Texas State University System

Cherí O’Neill
Colorado State University Foundation

Michael Rao
Virginia Commonwealth University

Suzanne Shipley
Midwestern State University

Jill Tiefenthaler
Colorado College

Timothy P. White
The California State University System

Senior Fellows

Michael F. Adams
President Emeritus, University of Georgia

Joseph Burke
President Emeritus, Keuka College

Carol Cartwright
President Emerita, Kent State University

Ellen Chaffee
President Emerita, Valley City State University and Mayville State University

Thomas F. Flynn
President Emeritus, Alvernia University

Jim Geringer
Former Governor of Wyoming and Chair of Western Governors University

R. Barbara Gitenstein
President Emerita, The College of New Jersey

Artis Hampshire-Cowan
Former Senior Vice President and Secretary of the Board, Howard University

Thomas K. Hyatt
Partner, Dentons LLC

William E. Kirwan
Chancellor Emeritus, University System of Maryland

James L. Lanier
Former Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement and CEO, East Carolina University Foundation

Theodore E. Long
President Emeritus, Elizabethtown College

Terrence MacTaggart
Former Chancellor, Minnesota State University System and University of Maine System

Sally Mason
President Emerita, University of Iowa

David Maxwell
President Emeritus, Drake University

Richard Novak
Former Senior Vice President for Programs and Research, AGB

Douglas Orr
President Emeritus, Warren Wilson College

Kevin P. Reilly
President Emeritus and Regent Professor, University of Wisconsin System

Alvin J. Schexnider
Former Chancellor, Winston-Salem State University

Peter Smith
Endowed Chair & Professor, University of Maryland University College

George P. Watt
Former Executive Vice President, Institutional Advancement and Executive Director, College of Charleston Foundation

Eileen Wilson-Oyelaran
President Emerita, Kalamazoo College

AGB Staff

Executive Office

Henry Stoever
President and CEO

Helen Leith
Director of Human Resources and Administration

Anjela Proctor
Receptionist/Administrative Coordinator

Digital Services

Deb Hodge
Chief Information Officer

Barbara Jones
Director of Digital Solutions

AGB Consulting

Ken Knueven
Managing Director

Rick Beyer
Lead Consultant and Special Advisor to the President

Elizabeth Alvarado
Director, AGB Consulting

Chris Moloney
Senior Consulting Associate

Lynn Sommerville
Assistant Director, AGB Consulting

Christa Pierce
Consulting Coordinator


Maria Nazareth
Vice President for Finance

Gerard Bayani
Manager of Accounting

Ying Xiang
Senior Accountant

Lili Zhuang
Accounting Assistant

Programming & Partnerships

Juliana Laing
Senior Director of Institutionally Related Foundations

Steve Abbott
Director of Corporate Relations

Andy Lounder
Director of Programs

Audrey Young
Director of Conferences and Events

Sherine Bonsu
Programs Manager

Lisa Biggs

Amy Lynch
Resources Coordinator

Zachary Post
Programs Assistant

Marketing & Strategic Communications

Cristin Toutsi Grigos
Director of Public Policy and Strategic Communications

Sarita Harris
Director of Marketing

Morgan Alexander
Assistant Director of Government and Public Affairs

Adam Levine
Marketing Coordinator

Jordan Johnson
Policy and Public Affairs Associate


Patricia Kunkle
Vice President for Membership Experience

Matthew Stevens
Director of Membership Outreach

Maureen Ndoto
Membership Experience Marketing Coordinator

Marianne Deausen
Senior Data Processing Coordinator

Charlene Bowman
Data Processing Coordinator

Helen Lopez
Member Services Assistant

Content Strategy & Development

Merrill Schwartz
Senior Vice President

Elaina Loveland

Anne Powell
Editorial Director

Doug Goldenberg-Hart
Director of AGB Press

Madeline Taub
Assistant Editor

AGB Governance Documents